Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

The City of Calgary announces members of the new Anti-Racism Committee

Calgary’s new Anti-Racism Action Committee has been selected.

The City of Calgary announced on Wednesday the names of the eleven members, who were unanimously approved by the city council at a meeting on Monday.

A publication from the city names the members as follows:

  • Nellie Alcaraz
  • Sonia Aujla Bhullar
  • Francis Boakye
  • Eileen Clearsky
  • Nyall DaBreo
  • Sajjad Fazel
  • Christine Giancarlo
  • Kari Giddings
  • Lisa Libin
  • Rishi Nagar
  • Anne-Marie Pham

“As we begin the difficult work of changing our policies and systems so that they are truly anti-racist, I am humbled by the number of Calgarians who are putting their names out to help with this task,” says Mayor Naheed Nenshi in the press release.

“It is the leadership of the community, those who have not been heard for too long, that determines the steps we can take to ensure that Calgary is a city for everyone.”

The first act of the committee is to elect a chairman and then determine how the goals will be achieved. This includes identifying systemic barriers to accessing Calgary programs and services, identifying language barriers to accessing information on those programs and services, finding ways to work with community organizations and partners in combating structural racism, and developing a community-based anti-racism strategy.

Comments are closed.